People aged 65 or over
14.9%21 March 2021 · Norwich
Show the workings
Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator
All usual residents
21,509 out of 143,922.
Source and method →Norwich · England
Norwich council area. Every figure carries its own date.
A place is more than its average house price. The census shows who lives here and some of the pressures households face.
People aged 65 or over
14.9%21 March 2021 · Norwich
Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator
All usual residents
21,509 out of 143,922.
Source and method →People reporting bad or very bad health
5.6%21 March 2021 · Norwich
Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator
All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised
8,120 out of 143,921.
Source and method →Households facing at least one measured disadvantage
55%21 March 2021 · Norwich
The census checks education, employment, health and housing. This is not a measure of income or poverty.
Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator
All households
35,477 out of 64,459.
Source and method →Households facing two or more measured disadvantages
20.6%21 March 2021 · Norwich
The census checks education, employment, health and housing. This is not a measure of income or poverty.
Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator
All households
13,309 out of 64,459.
Source and method →People aged 16+ with no qualifications
17.1%21 March 2021 · Norwich
Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator
Residents aged 16 and over
20,617 out of 120,762.
Source and method →People aged 16+ with a degree or equivalent
34.1%21 March 2021 · Norwich
Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator
Residents aged 16 and over
41,202 out of 120,762.
Source and method →People reporting bad or very bad health
People reporting bad or very bad health ranged from 3.4% in Nelson to 7.4% in Crome — a gap of 4 percentage points.
21 March 2021 · 13 of 13 current wards with comparable figures.
Residents described their own health. Differences in age matter, so this is a prompt to investigate needs, not a score for local health services.
These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.
| Ward | Share | Count | Population or households covered |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nelson | 3.4% | 360 | 10,440 |
| Eaton | 4.4% | 446 | 10,118 |
| University | 4.6% | 666 | 14,549 |
| Sewell | 4.8% | 494 | 10,353 |
| Town Close | 5.2% | 534 | 10,199 |
| Thorpe Hamlet | 5.3% | 513 | 9,689 |
| Catton Grove | 5.8% | 646 | 11,177 |
| Bowthorpe | 6% | 607 | 10,172 |
| Wensum | 6.2% | 787 | 12,734 |
| Lakenham | 6.3% | 673 | 10,685 |
| Mile Cross | 6.5% | 730 | 11,202 |
| Mancroft | 7.3% | 772 | 10,617 |
| Crome | 7.4% | 893 | 11,990 |
People aged 65 or over
People aged 65 or over ranged from 9.8% in University to 28.7% in Eaton — a gap of 18.9 percentage points.
21 March 2021 · 13 of 13 current wards with comparable figures.
Age helps locate demand for accessible homes, transport and support. Being older does not itself mean someone needs care.
These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.
| Ward | Share | Count | Population or households covered |
|---|---|---|---|
| University | 9.8% | 1,433 | 14,553 |
| Sewell | 10.8% | 1,114 | 10,354 |
| Mile Cross | 12.1% | 1,359 | 11,202 |
| Wensum | 12.3% | 1,567 | 12,734 |
| Nelson | 13.8% | 1,443 | 10,436 |
| Bowthorpe | 14.1% | 1,430 | 10,173 |
| Catton Grove | 14.4% | 1,608 | 11,178 |
| Mancroft | 14.9% | 1,583 | 10,617 |
| Thorpe Hamlet | 15% | 1,454 | 9,689 |
| Lakenham | 16.7% | 1,789 | 10,685 |
| Crome | 17.2% | 2,059 | 11,988 |
| Town Close | 17.3% | 1,763 | 10,199 |
| Eaton | 28.7% | 2,904 | 10,118 |
People aged 16+ with no qualifications
People aged 16+ with no qualifications ranged from 7.3% in Nelson to 25% in Crome — a gap of 17.7 percentage points.
21 March 2021 · 13 of 13 current wards with comparable figures.
Formal qualifications are only one part of someone's skills. Training decisions also need current vacancies, employment and residents' experience.
These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.
| Ward | Share | Count | Population or households covered |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nelson | 7.3% | 659 | 9,023 |
| Thorpe Hamlet | 10.7% | 934 | 8,736 |
| Town Close | 11.9% | 1,058 | 8,911 |
| Eaton | 12.5% | 1,075 | 8,596 |
| University | 13.2% | 1,664 | 12,633 |
| Mancroft | 14.5% | 1,403 | 9,682 |
| Sewell | 15% | 1,312 | 8,761 |
| Wensum | 20.8% | 2,125 | 10,230 |
| Bowthorpe | 21.1% | 1,714 | 8,123 |
| Lakenham | 22.6% | 1,944 | 8,606 |
| Catton Grove | 23.7% | 2,117 | 8,938 |
| Mile Cross | 24.8% | 2,197 | 8,855 |
| Crome | 25% | 2,415 | 9,675 |
Households facing two or more measured disadvantages
Households facing two or more measured disadvantages ranged from 11% in Nelson to 27.5% in Crome — a gap of 16.5 percentage points.
21 March 2021 · 13 of 13 current wards with comparable figures.
These households met at least two census conditions covering education, employment, health and housing. This is not an income or poverty measure.
These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.
| Ward | Share | Count | Population or households covered |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nelson | 11% | 534 | 4,855 |
| Eaton | 12.3% | 555 | 4,504 |
| Thorpe Hamlet | 15.5% | 879 | 5,668 |
| Sewell | 16.4% | 833 | 5,082 |
| Town Close | 16.8% | 878 | 5,236 |
| Catton Grove | 22.5% | 1,113 | 4,957 |
| Lakenham | 22.9% | 1,149 | 5,010 |
| Bowthorpe | 23.5% | 957 | 4,081 |
| Mancroft | 24.1% | 1,330 | 5,523 |
| Wensum | 24.4% | 1,312 | 5,386 |
| University | 25.8% | 1,064 | 4,127 |
| Mile Cross | 26.4% | 1,283 | 4,864 |
| Crome | 27.5% | 1,421 | 5,164 |
Anglia Square, Norwich
The former shopping area is being cleared for phased housing, public spaces and local facilities. Affordable homes form a major part of the first phases.
Demolition under way at the dated update · evidence dated 2026-06-22
Responsible body: Norwich City Council and development partners
Latest evidence: The council confirms demolition continuing and construction scheduled in the following months. First homes are expected by 2028, with later phases beyond that; neither milestone is recorded as achieved.
Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Anglia Square redevelopment: your questions answered →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Make Anglia Square’s housing phases easy to follow →
Make room for homes people can afford →
Connect local skills to local opportunities →
Target support where disadvantages overlap →
How to track delivery →Carrow Works, Deal Ground, May Gurney and Utilities sites
Underused industrial land could become homes, workspaces and riverside routes, connecting the city with the Broads.
Masterplan and allocations published; phased development ahead · source does not state a status date
Responsible body: East Norwich Delivery Board and landowners
Latest evidence: The council identifies four main sites and a partnership board formed in 2022. The proposed housing and jobs describe development capacity; this page does not verify that the full neighbourhood is being built.
Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Make room for homes people can afford →
Connect local skills to local opportunities →
Target support where disadvantages overlap →
How to track delivery →Eligible homes across Norwich
Norwich has secured £4.7 million to improve 330 homes between 2025 and 2028. The programme offers eligible households help with insulation and other energy upgrades.
Grant funding secured; eligibility and property checks apply · source does not state a status date
Responsible body: Norwich City Council
Latest evidence: The council’s energy-support page states the funding and 330-home programme aim. It distinguishes support for homeowners and private renters from the separate schemes for council tenants. It does not publish a completed-home total.
Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Smart ways to save energy and cut costs →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Turn energy grants into warmer homes people can afford →
Make room for homes people can afford →
Plan homes and care around an older population →
Bring support closer to people in poor health →
Target support where disadvantages overlap →
How to track delivery →